Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Lance Brown & Associates  We fight for our clients.
  • We fight for our clients
  • ~
  • Get assistance today!

Aggressive New Jersey and Pennsylvania DUI Defense Attorneys

Under current law, you can be arrested for drunk driving in New Jersey if a test reveals as little as .08% of alcohol in your bloodstream, and there is talk of lowering this threshold to .05%. The DUI attorneys at Lance Brown & Associates understand the penalties you face if convicted; they also know the law and what it takes to defend against charges of driving under the influence.

New Jersey DUI Laws and Penalties

Driving under the influence (DUI) in New Jersey is classified as a traffic offense and is heard in municipal court rather than criminal court, but it is still a very serious matter. The court can and does impose serious penalties on a person convicted of drunk driving. Even a first-time offender can be subjected to almost $2,000 in fines, fees and surcharges and sentenced to 30 days in prison. You can also lose your driver’s license for 3 months on a first offense, or two years on a second offense. For many people, the loss of a driver’s license leads to the loss of their job, and getting a new job with a DUI on your record can be a challenge. You can expect your insurance rates to skyrocket as well.

The State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission has stated that a chemical test of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is the only scientific way to determine whether a driver is under the influence. Under New Jersey law, you are required to submit to a breath test if you have been arrested for drunk driving. If you refuse the test, you will be transported to a facility where a blood sample will be drawn, regardless of whether you consent or not. There are also penalties that may be imposed for refusing to take a breath test, and depending upon your actual BAC and other factors, these penalties may be harsher than had you submitted to the breath test in the first place.

Seek Experienced Legal Representation for your New Jersey DUI Arrest

As a former prosecutor for several New Jersey townships, Lance Brown knows the mistakes that law enforcement makes that can affect the prosecution of your DUI case. We take a look at every aspect of your arrest, from the cause for the initial stop to the testing procedures employed, the quality of the breathalyzer or other equipment used, and the chain of custody of any samples taken. We fight hard to make sure your rights are protected and respected and will use every defense available to have the charges against you dropped or reduced or to win an adjudication of your innocence of the charges brought against you.

If you or a member of your family has been arrested for drunk driving in New Jersey or eastern Pennsylvania, contact Lance Brown & Associates for aggressive, effective representation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation